Already?

July 22, 2011 § 4 Comments

I am beginning to understand what "in the blink of an eye" really means.

Today, my husband told me that we have been married for 333 days.  At 9:33pm, it will be 333 days, 3 hours, and 33 minutes.  “That’s an excellent time,” as the ever-wise Lucas stated in Empire Records (and if you have no idea what I’m talking about, we cannot be friends until you immediately drop everything you are doing and view it- I will bring popcorn and watch it change your life).

Two things came to mind when he told me this Snapple cap fun fact:

  1. I love that he thinks like that.
  2. We are one month shy of our year anniversary.  Friends, this is truly crazy talk.  Looking back on where I was this time last year, the anticipation of it all, it’s hard to wrap my mind around being on the other side now and staring down the barrel of our first anniversary.  It feels like we’re talking about someone else.

Kenny and I still look at each other daily, amazed and delighted at being called “husband and wife,” as if we’re getting away with the cookie jar.  At this pace, we’re lookin’ at some likely longevity and finding bliss in the small stuff.  Sounds pretty good to me.

Alright, alright- maybe you’ve already reached your maximum gush tolerance.  And that’s okay.  But please take heed of this advanced warning:

Exactly one month from today, on the Twenty-Second  Day of August in the year of our Lord two thousand and eleven, I shall share reflections on marriage and a pretty awesome relationship that we worked darn hard for.  Because a first anniversary only happens, um, once and anniversaries are cause for celebration, period.  Even on blogs.

 I’ve done all I can do to prepare you and promise you it will be good, with some oldies-but-goodies like this:

"So Much Awkward"- 2005

 Why am I ginormous?  What is with my Flock of Seagulls hairdo? Is Kenny really 10 years younger than I am?  All good questions.

 To be continued….

 

§ 4 Responses to Already?

  • David says:

    Natalie, you never were ginormous!! I can hardly wait for the rest (of your lives, that is).

  • ma says:

    Gush away…………makes a mom’s heart dance with delight!!! It is the small stuff that makes you sigh with happiness…..I know, ’cause I *sigh* alot 🙂 Bless you both and it REALLY is hard to believe it was almost a year ago when my little girl became Mrs. Natalie Soldano. (News flash……..you will always remain my little girl, though, it’s a mom’s perogative)!

  • …Only 8 years younger without the beard.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Already? at thischickadee.

meta

