Leap.

July 26, 2011 § 3 Comments

That evening after dinner, Clare went into Cornelia’s bedroom to write what Teo had said to her about being good in her journal. Getting the words right mattered, but so did describing his voice when he talked and capturing the feeling that filled her as he spoke and after he spoke. She thought about that word “capture,” how it put a writer on par with a fur trapper or big-game hunter, and how it implied that stories were whole and roaming around loose in the world,and a writer’s job was to catch them….the point was to keep the stories alive.

She felt skeptical about this way of thinking about writing,

but was glad to have considered it.

I am about to finish Love Walked In by Marisa de los Santos for the second time. We’ve established how awesome my memory is when it comes to books and movies, so it can almost go without saying how much I enjoyed this book.  Again.

The praise I am about to give this novel is not a book report.  But if you must know…I am in love with this author.  If I could write like her, I would wrap my words up as gifts and dole them out like little butterscotch candies  to everyone I passed (because who doesn’t love those?) to brighten their day and help them feel understood.  She has an incredible way of phrasing her descriptions as though they came from your own head- “that’s exactly it, Marisa!”- but sound even better her way.

I could go on and on.  In two words: read her.

But that’s not the point.

The point IS that I am going to soon be devoting my days to “capturing stories” and being, well, a writer.  Might sound a bit crazypants, but I’m approaching it with the faith that I have important things to say and just might be readable (i.e. you’re not just reading this blog for its…educational value).  I feel that God has been challenging me over the last several months, if not years, to get friggin serious about some writing that needs to be out there and some niches that have yet to be filled. 

It’s a bit overwhelming, but I am easily overwhelmed [Note: facing a trip to the grocery store can tighten my chest as if I inhaled smoke, let alone a complete leap of faith in the “pursuing your passion” department, so we must maintain some perspective.  However, I don’t think “leaping” inspires the warm fuzzies for anyone, so there’s that].  But for the most part, I am very excited.  Writing full time has always been a dream of mine that I never took very seriously for myself, but I think God tired of me whining about what I was “meant to do” when He’d clearly given me a place to start and I have to trust that it’s time to throw my weight into it. 

I’ll keep you posted on the progress, of course.  In fact, if you like it here, I very soon will have another fun space for you to visit and maybe learn something about your neighborhood.  Cryptic, isn’t it?

And hey- thanks for your support (i.e. readership).  Talk about the warm fuzzies.

Gold stars for all. 

§ 3 Responses to Leap.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Leap. at thischickadee.

meta

