Father, I adore you.

September 30, 2011 § Leave a comment

My brother is a dad.  Which is weird.

My brother.  The same one whose favorite phrase was “You’re it!” for almost 30 years.  The brother who snuck under my bed to eat from my food reserve clearly marked “Natalie” in Sharpie, just to spite me.  The one who tossed my cat down the stairs.

That brother.

He and my beautiful sister-in-law (who makes having  a brother so worth it) are the proud parents to a precious Emma and newbie Jack.  Goodness, the Lord made some adorable kids there. Geez.  And I am not just saying that because Emma kinda looks like me.

I swear.

It’s been fascinating, watching him with them.   He is still the brother I’ve always known, ready to wrestle or make a fort, but I get to appreciate it in a different way, especially when he’s with his daughter.  I watch him with her and know how much it means to have a solid father in your little life- what it can mean for your confidence, your security, your future.

I don’t know where I’d be without a dad commited to that list.  I am incredibly grateful for the father I was blessed with and for the father my brother is becoming.  And I am well aware how rare that can be.  Which leads me to this:

 

Friends, it gives me chills. It is from those who made Fireproof (another inpiring goodie). Please check and see if it is playing near you HERE.  It opens tonight- go.  Tell your friends. 

And as a direct recipient of what real fatherhood is-it makes all the difference in the world. 

 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Father, I adore you. at thischickadee.

meta

