The days of old.er.

October 13, 2011 § 2 Comments

Today in history...

Around this time 28 years ago, millions were enjoying Flashdance and A Christmas Story, tapping their toes to new releases by David Bowie and Blue Oyster Cult, and Chicago was very excited about getting to use the very first cell phone released to the U.S. public.

And my mom was in labor.

All monumental happenings, friends.

Me and my doll...cake.

Birthdays have always been big in my family.  We’re talking birthday weeks. Cake, parties, treats for school- you name it.

Pigtails and Popples.

Brothers wanting to know where their presents were and acting as if they’d been sentenced to time in a Turkish prison when they had to sit and watch you open yours. I mean, like he was actually in pain.  The way he rolled his head to the side, set his shoulders forward with his mouth agape as if he was sitting in class while the teacher called, “Bueller.    

Bueller.

Bueller.”

I can still hear the way he’d say, “OH! COOL!” before I’d gotten through the wrapping paper when Dad thumped him back into consciousness.

But I digress.

Mmmm--clown mophead cake.

 I loved the magic, the anticipation.  I slept restlessly and anticipated what the day may hold- glitter and Polly Pockets and scrunchies.  Oh, don’t get me wrong– I’ve had some great birthdays since then, but they’ve been grown-up birthdays.  The kind without slides and slumber parties and sundaes. Instead, the only thing that came to mind this year when imagining the best birthday ever was getting a caramel mocha delivered to me in bed.

High. Maintenance.

 Because let’s face it–pictures like this just don’t come ’round anymore:

My mom's so purdy. And so is my kitty cat.

so now it’s all about coffee and a clean house (what I got last year for my birthday). 

Ah, it’s been great reminiscing with you.  I’m off to use the “but it’s my birthday” line at every turn and maybe see a free movie with my birthday coupon. Maybe.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to The days of old.er.

  • […] Posts Cartoons share truth.Watch out for lurkers…Mondays are for laughs.Mother Henthisread:The days of old.er. Categories Select Category Blogness Celebrations Chickens Conversations cooking and baking Faith […]

  • ma says:

    Little did I know that 28 years ago my labor would be such a wonderful “labor of love” . God heard my cry and answered my prayer for the daughter I wanted! Happy birthday to the daughter who will alway remain my little girl, no matter how many birthdays she celebrates. Enjoy your day, and, yes………………it is ALL about you
    ❤ LYT XXOO

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The days of old.er. at thischickadee.

meta

