Houseguest

October 18, 2011 § 6 Comments

Where am I?

After 14 years in the same house, I have been uprooted and sent away to a new, strange place that has absolutely none of my favorite places to sleep.

First of all, I had to ride in a car, in my carrier, and I hate the car. And the carrier. When I see it, I immediately want to cry and run away.

So I do.  The car and the carrier just mean I’m going to the vet and the last time I went there, they took my tail. 

A word to the wise: don’t go to the vet.  You will only leave with most of you.

My cage, I mean carrier.

Now everyone calls me Stumpy.  Well, I imagine they would if I ever went outside anyway.  But I don’t.  Which is why riding in the car is the worst. Trees whizzing past, sunshine, odd smells- it’s enough to make an indoor cat come completely undone.

So I do. I scream the entire drive.  And sometimes hiss at nothing except my situation.  No matter how much Natalie tells me, “Zoya, it’s okay” in that voice I usually like, that I will survive, I don’t believe it.  I scream like I am being driven to my end.  Even when Natalie tries meowing at me, she just sounds ridiculous.  Someone make her stop.

Upon arrival to this new house, I immediately sniffed about a bit and made my way under the couch, where I have scarcely left since.  Good thing Natalie put my food in the living room- it’s like having  a buffet right next to your bed. Maybe I do like her after all.

Will appear for food and water.

We’ll see how this goes.  I have habits, routines to stick to.  I am 80 years old, for pete’s sake- I’m getting too old for this stuff.

I just hope I can find the little kitten’s room. ‘Cause that’s not in the living room.

Tagged: , ,

§ 6 Responses to Houseguest

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Houseguest at thischickadee.

meta

