Sometimes, it takes a billboard.

October 25, 2011 § 6 Comments

Be Grateful.
There are days I need to stop and think about it.
Before I head out to forget, I need to recognize it. Now.
So, as the sun rises and the day officially begins, I am grateful.

Grateful for the heat filling the house, for the blanket on my lap, for the coffee brewing.  But that’s just the beginning.

I’m grateful for the food in the fridge and the ’91 Cavalier outside. 

For the niece and nephew soon rising to meet the day (and give their mom a run for her money).  For the family who always asks about life, who never takes “I’m good” for an answer and who calls with the next great writing idea or simple words of encouragement.

For the Craigslist couches and chickens out back.

For the friends who’ve agreed to the terms of a lifelong contract, who never ask for anything more than honesty and time, who decide I’m amazing and I should just go with that.

For the books with worn covers on the shelf and the job I get to do.

I’m grateful for the man who just left to finish another project, who never [and I mean never] leaves the house without a kiss.  The man who took me out on a late night run to Wendy’s because I’d been in a funk and dreaming of a Frosty all day.  The man who stops everything when I turn Joni Mitchell on so he can dance with me in the hallway.  And finally, the man I found at the front door in a suit, ready for our “family meeting” to talk about writing.  So grateful for that man.

And I’m grateful for the Father who made the sun coming up, created my friends and family, and who led me to a husband who will dance with me.

What are you grateful for today?

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Sometimes, it takes a billboard.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sometimes, it takes a billboard. at thischickadee.

meta

