Watch out for lurkers…

October 26, 2011 § 12 Comments

In the spirit of Halloween,
I have a confession. 

Growing up, I was afraid of everything.

Any odd noises in the house, branches tapping on the window, strange people walking by outside- someone was out to get me.  And the dark? Don’t even get me started.  [You can see how I handled haunted houses here.You might be wondering how it began, this paranoia, thinking that my parents allowed me to sit around and watch horror movies all day, and you’re right.

They did.  Day and night.

Just kidding.

[They even had to limit my viewing of Rescue 911 (remember that show?) as the dramatic reenactments and traumas freaked me out.]

I don’t know where it came from.  Let’s just blame my brother. 

Nonetheless, I was easily startled (that, I know I got from my mother, but we’ll continue to blame my brother because I think it’s a rule) and hated being home alone.  We had an attic and a basement where I always thought things were “lurking.”  What things?  Madmen, creatures, or my brother.  As soon as my family left or was asleep for the night, things could lurk freely about the house.

The shower was the worst.  No, not Psycho style.  I imagined someone was waiting in the shower when I went into the bathroom.  I mean, think about it.  Best place to hide.  Who thinks to look in the shower? 

Well, this girl.

I pictured someone crouching, Spiderman style, on the ceiling of the shower.  Or just standing in it, ready to pounce on me at the first chance.  For years….I mean years, I would have this routine: push open the bathroom door police raid style (hard, thus surprising anyone potentially “lurking” behind the door, of course), flip on the light, and before going in, push back the shower curtain and run my gaze from the ceiling to the tub.  All clear.

I did this every time.  Every. Time.

Why did I do this?  You probably all think I’m crazy.  But, you will be happy to know that I eventually got over it.  I no longer check restrooms like the FBI and can handle being home alone.  I mean, I still don’t like the dark, but who likes the dark? 

Don’t judge me.  I can’t be the only one.  Anyone else out there with unfounded fears?  Please?

Mama’s Losin’ It

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 12 Responses to Watch out for lurkers…

  • Oh my gosh, that picture made me laugh out loud! Classic!

    I never got into bed without making sure nothing was under it first. And closet doors remained WIDE open.

  • tianac says:

    I can certainly sympathize with you. I was always afraid of the dark and the lurking monsters as well. It certainly did not help when I was a child and the weather was great, my parents would open all of the windows to “air out” the house. They of course had no problem sleeping with windows open. Not this girl, I would be sweating to death in my bedroom with the window down and locked and my bedroom door locked.

    It took even longer for me to grow out of it since my first apartment was broken into (while I was home alone with my daughter).

    • Ahhhhhh windows! They are the WORST. I NEVER had my window open growing up, as much as I wanted to, in theory. Too terrified. Your trepidation is valid considering your experience! Hope everything turned out okay…

      • tianac says:

        Everything turned just fine, other than leaving me terrified. I called my daddy and then 911 (lol). And of course, my dad beat the the cops there by 10 minutes. It took forever it seems for me to stay by myself again. But eventually, things leveled out.

  • Dawn says:

    Your post reminds me of one of my sons. He always opens the closet door in the bathroom before he’ll sit on the toilet. Just to make sure nothing is lurking in there. Great post! I love your writing style. Stopping by from Mama Kat’s.

  • Erin says:

    Your post brought me right back to my irrational childhood fears—and I loved it! I remember being 6 and asking to be left at home while my mom walked down the street to pick up my younger brother and sister from nursery school. She was only gone for a couple of minutes when I started staring at the old family portraits on the wall. It felt like their eyes were staring back at me, and no matter where I walked to, they would follow. I got so scared that I ran out of the house screaming for my mom. Fortunately, she was only halfway down the block, and I was able to catch up to her. It took me YEARS to be able to be alone in the house after that.

    I hadn’t thought of this memory in a long time. Thank you for sharing your fears, and for making me remember my own.

  • I always thought if you went into the bathroom, turned off the light, held your face against the mirror and said “Bloody Mary” three times, that she would appear in the mirror. Oh, and you had to flush the toilet. (of course) Now that’s crazy.

  • MJ says:

    I don’t think you’re crazy. The dark freaked me out a lot as a kid, and my 5-year-old is very jumpy about these sorts of things. Halloween Simpsons specials will have to wait a few more years…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Watch out for lurkers… at thischickadee.

meta

