Patience, grasshopper.

November 8, 2011 § 4 Comments

I am what some would call impatient. 

I hate it when my watched pot isn’t boiling, there are cars between me and my destination, or long lines at the grocery store.  If something isn’t working right and should be (i.e. technology)- watch out.  When I can’t pick something up as quickly as I’d like (i.e. crocheting) then it can end up abandoned. 

This is a quality I am afraid I will pass on to my children.  How am I supposed to use the “Patience is a virtue” line when they see mommy sighing in exasperation and drumming her fingers whenever she has to wait?

I’m working on it.

Kenny and I are overhauling our office.  It will be really cool.  And right now, our office/guest room looks like this:

Lord, help me.  I am trying to be patient with the process and remember that it always looks worse before it gets better (and imagine- this is already a wee bit “better” than a few days ago).  A plan has been designed, lumber has been purchased and cut, and we’re technically well on our way. I just basically can’t go in that room until it’s really time to work on it or else I kind of want to cry. 

I can’t wait to show you the new and improved space by this weekend.  That is the plan, anyway.  You will find a custom-made duo desk built along the wall Kenny’s sitting at and new furniture to help with the room’s dual function as office/guest room. 

The end product will be boss.  It’s just the mess in the meantime that will force me into my happy place.  Stay tuned!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Patience, grasshopper.

  • […] have been unable to sleep, eat, think about anything else.  After this post and this post, you have been counting down the days.  As soon as you find yourself distracted by, […]

  • […] Posts Patience, grasshopper.You will be blessed.Thursday ThoughtsFather, I adore you.The days of old.er.Loud and […]

  • tiffany says:

    I am exactly the same way! I have given up on so many potential/trial hobbies because I didn’t pick it up quickly enough and that was my struggle with High School. My theory is that when many things *do* come easy to you, especially as a child, (and i dont just mean being given all you want but maybe understanding comes easy) that you don’t get the opportunity to learn how to work hard and long for something. Then when you have to, it’s hard to be patient with the eventual success or completion. Instant gratification is a drug!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Patience, grasshopper. at thischickadee.

meta

