Movin’ and Shakin’

November 28, 2011 § 2 Comments

Good morning, all!

(or afternoon, or maybe even evening if that’s when you clicked my way, but anyway. Heeey!)

I’m blogging with zeal today, folks, for a few reasons.  First, it was a great weekend.  Food, family, christenings, winning football games, more food, coffee, walks, and finally…some decorating.  I’m still not quite sure what got into me, but I was decorating with gusto yesterday after having a vision for the living room.  I was unable to stop myself.

This, in fact, caused me to get behind on NaNo and therefore I am panicking just a little about finishing by Wednesday, on top of some other writing assignments that are due, but let’s just focus on Christmas.  Pretty.

After taking down everything Thanksgiving, I grabbed our Christmas stuff from the shed and went to it.  You know the phrase “It gets worse before it gets better?”  Well, I lived it, friends.  Again.  But at least this process went much faster than the office.

I got organized, put lights up around the front windows, and all while Kenny remained obliviously occupied in the office*, I rotated all of our furniture counter-clockwise.  This was taken about 1/3 of the way through the process:

Sorry for such poor picture quality- phones can only do so much.  Seriously. I know they’re bad.  [That’s what happens when you have your camera in your pocket while jumping up to catch a baseball- it falls on the concrete and then buttons don’t work.  Just to warn you.]  And no, that is not an angel or a star hanging out in the corner- it’s a floor lamp. And please notice the television in the fireplace and there is another television on the floor in front of the sun. 

But I kept moving, sweating up a storm and vaccuuming every nook and cranny I could find, all while Hallmark Christmas movies played in the background.  And, finally, this happened:

Again, the pictures look so much better when they’re all tiny on my phone.  I need a real camera.  But you get the idea.  Moving two fairly large couches and our “entertainment center” (term used loosely) later, I think I am happy with it. I did have a minute of mover’s remorse when I stood back to survey my work, but I think we’ll live with it for awhile.

And on that note, I have to scurry and start vomiting words onto paper to catch up by Wednesday’s deadline.  I hope you all had a fabulous Thanksgiving and if you are having a hard time with this particular Monday, I am right there with ya. 

*Kenny’s reaction was priceless.  He came out of his cave after several hours and just stood there….looking…for the longest time…then he would look back down the hallway as if checking to see that he didn’t walk through a magic wardrobe and then back at the living room.

Me: “Didn’t you hear me moving the furniture and vaccuuming for the last few hours?”

Him: “No.”

Me: “Wow.”

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Movin’ and Shakin’

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Movin’ and Shakin’ at thischickadee.

meta

