The real “enough”

December 20, 2011 § 5 Comments

**This was a submission I wrote a couple of months ago and failed to post. I would love to say that, since writing it and praying on it, I have mastered the concept of “looking up,” but I would be lying. Like my pants were on fire.**

An inspirational entry from a girl looking up:

 From my seat by the window, I see her walk in. Her hair is curled, her skin is flawless, and she’s wearing clothes I would never think to put together to create the perfect look.  Without warning, I feel small.  I can’t use a curling iron to save my life, can’t seem to find the right skincare to do the trick, and don’t know where to begin when it comes to fashion.  I’m not running off to an important job, but find solace in the fact that her necklace was crooked and she didn’t smile at the barista. 

As least I smile.

In the span of about 10 seconds, I have surmised that she has it all together and I don’t.  I know nothing about her, yet decide I don’t compare and even allow a hurricane of judgment towards this poor woman just to make myself feel better. In no time at all, I now feel I don’t measure up next to a stranger and my insecurities have taken over.

Comparison is an ugly beast, with moments like this setting off an avalanche of self-deprecation.  The very nature of comparison is to find a winner and a loser, to end up ahead or lacking.  It means judging someone else and ourselves.  No matter what the comparison is- money, possessions, job, looks, or talents- the feeling is the same: I don’t measure up. 

This is not how we are to be. 

As often as I am plagued by comparison, I know God only wants me to feel lovely, accepted, and enough.  To live by any other standard would mean chasing after the impossible- enough by the standards of the world, a moving target.   We will never be enough in the eyes of ourselves or each other until we believe that we are enough for God, the Creator of the universe. 

We are all imperfect sisters in Christ, no matter how flawless we may appear.  Everyone has their own insecurities and struggles weighing on their hearts.  And because of the love we receive from God, unconditional and unchanging, we can encourage one another, rejoicing in each other’s gifts, delighting in each other’s beauty- God’s creation.

 “I praise [God] because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; [His] works are wonderful, I know that full well.”  Psalm 139:14

I’m daily challenged to stop looking around for how my life compares to others when I should be asking myself how my life is like that of Christ himself.  Instead of looking at each other, we should be looking up.

We are not without a Savior who died for us, so we are not without.  So let’s live like we have everything, shall we?

 

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to The real “enough”

  • shannon says:

    I always come back to the quote
    “Comparison is the thief of joy”
    it’s so true, a great reminder to not look at what others have to measure how we’re doing and to remain joyful in what we have and who we are.

    • Amen, ShanHan. And that quote is SO TRUE. I kick myself when those words come to mind after I’ve lost my joy and I then think,” gah- it happened again.” Can’t let comparison win! We are children of the King, unconditionally loved! I’d say nothing else compares.

  • ma says:

    How timely. Especially at this season when we celebrate our Savior’s birth. We might consider following His example of how to view others and then rest in how He created us for His divine purpose. We are designed by the Creator of the universe. He, alone, is the only perfect One.

  • Tiana says:

    Instead you posted the exact day I needed to reminded of the same thing. Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The real “enough” at thischickadee.

meta

