If I had a cave…

March 1, 2012 § 7 Comments

…I would run away and read in it.

It’d be quiet there and I could snuggle in where no one would find me and just read and read and read. 

And there would be tons of solitude because no one would want to come with me to the cave.  If it were a cozy, comfy cabin with a view of a lake and always a fire and coffee, that would be trouble. People would want to come.  “You’re going to a cabin?  Can I come?” they would ask.  At least, that’s what I want to ask when I hear about people going to cabins.  But if the conversation were to go more like this: “Where ya goin’?”  “A cave.”  “Oh.” then I would get to go read. 

A cave, it is.

I haven’t been frequenting the library as much lately, mainly because the tempo of my writing has increased so much that there hasn’t been a story compelling  enough where I want to sit down to read MORE WORDS.

But now, as it usually goes, I am swimming in all of  the books that came in at the same time from being on hold.  And I have to tell you- I want to stop everything and eat them all up at once.  Hence the cave.

First up, I am almost finished with a book that is all sorts of awesome-Take Good Care of the Garden and the Dogs by Heather Lende, and you should STOP READING THIS POST RIGHT NOW AND GO OUT TO GET IT.  [Whoa. All caps. She must be real serious.]  Heather Lende lives in Haines, Alaska (i.e. the most beautiful place on earth), writes the obits for the local paper and hence knows pretty much everything about everyone in town.  Her first book, If You Lived Here I’d Know Your Name, details those stories (and yes, I suggest you run out and read that one, too).  This one, however, takes you on a more spiritual journey while still getting a wonderful taste of small town Haines.  It has made me laugh out loud a couple of times and you will, in fact, want to read it in front of a fire.  Like you were in Alaska, naturally.  It’s okay if you end up wanting to live there.  We can all go.  It would probably double the population.

And there is no way I will be able to stay away from Falling Together by Marisa De los Santos for very long.  I love her.  For those of you who remember this post, it comes as no surprise that I want to gobble up whatever she writes.   This will be one I wish I could attach to myself like one of those harmonicas you can always have at your mouth.  Then I could read it all day.

Next in line will absolutely be Ruth: A Portrait, the Story of Ruth Bell Graham by Patricia Daniels Cornwell. I recently wrote a biography on this wonderful woman and couldn’t get enough of her story.  Such a woman of God and the best partner to her husband, Billy Graham, all with a little spice. The stories I was reading were so lovely and inspiring that I can’t wait to dig into a book.

Aaaaaand the Book Club book: The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan.  I’ll say this right now- I might be in trouble with this one.  How can I let the other ones sit by while I forge my way through this one (sorry, Kendra- I’m sure it’s wonderful, just longified)?  Of course I will do my best.  And probably change some eating habits for about a week.  That’s usually as long as I can last.  I fear change.

SO MANY PAGES OF WORDS.  SO LITTLE TIME.

What are you reading???

Tagged:

§ 7 Responses to If I had a cave…

  • […] be just like her when I grow up, which is why I am currently digging into her biography mentioned here and loving every […]

  • ma says:

    Taking note of your recommendations and putting them in my Kindle for future reading 🙂

    • I keep forgetting you have that! Makes it easier, doesn’t it? You will definitely love Heather Lende’s book and anything you can read about Ruth Bell Graham! She made me think of you! 🙂

  • Anonymous says:

    It IS wonderful! And required… so there’s that. But focus more on it being wonderful. And bonus- he’s a great, effortless writer.
    ~Ken (aka the woman who is trying to take you away from Haines, one of your favorite authors, and inspiritaional Christian women).

    • HAHAHAHAHA you really did make me laugh out loud, friend. Of course I look forward to your pick, as usual, and will highly enjoy it. Let’s just say that if I’m up ’til 4am the night before Book Club, you’ll know why. 🙂

  • Emily says:

    Can I just run away to the cave next door, so we can chat about the books when we’re done? 😉 Several of these books look like ones I would enjoy. Thanks for the recommendations!

    • In a word- YES! I would love a cave neighbor! You’re right, I love chatting about what I’m reading and would certainly miss that! If you end up checking out any of these picks, I’d love to hear what you think. 🙂 Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading If I had a cave… at thischickadee.

meta

