Good Friday indeed.

April 6, 2012 § 2 Comments

Today is Good Friday.  I always liked that it was cloudy on Good Friday, at least in Seattle.  I vaguely remember growing up with my mom telling me that it seemed appropriate. A reflection of what the day represents.

Now, rain on Easter, which also happens in Seattle, is a different story.  I could never figure that one out.

I don’t have incredibly profound words to say today.  This is one of those days where words on this blog fail to capture the meaning of today, so it makes it hard to try. I have never really written about Good Friday and Easter, probably because I feel too many things to put them down in any coherent way. Really, I came on here to just share with you in Good Friday. It is overwhelming, what today represents and the gravity of Calvary.  When I think about Christ’s hands and feet on the cross, the thorns on his head, the anger, hate, and fear being spat at him from all directions, I feel so small yet so special at the same time it’s insane.  Maybe one day, I will craft my emotions onto the page, but that day is not today.

We are going to a Good Friday service this evening that we are excited about.  Yes, today has to go on a bit business as usual  while we steal any moment we can to take in what the day signifies, but we hope to be in church tonight, immersed in remembrance and reverence.

This is when Christ saved the world.

37 Then Jesus uttered another loud cry and breathed his last. 38 And the curtain in the sanctuary of the Temple was torn in two, from top to bottom.

39 When the Roman officer who stood facing him saw how he had died, he exclaimed, “This man truly was the Son of God!”

Mark 15: 37-39

 

Source: google.com via Lyn on Pinterest

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to Good Friday indeed.

  • Cristal says:

    It was always hard for me to understand why we call this “good” Friday. As I’ve grown in understanding, I am finding goodness in every day and especially the day the King became my Savior.

    • Amen, Cristal. I found the words “Happy Good Friday” coming out of my mouth at our church service and it felt a bit odd, yet I was overwhelmed with emotion over what Christ had done and “good” wasn’t even the half of it!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Good Friday indeed. at thischickadee.

meta

