Adding to our family.

May 2, 2012 § 2 Comments

So remember this little houseguest?

Well, we took her in once more while my parents were out of town and, um, decided we didn’t want to give her back (as if their home werent 10 times more luxurious for this feline, but whatever. We’re welfish like that and I just wanted to keep her).  After a quick pow-wow in the backyard with the husband amongst the chickens, we decided to add to our family.  My husband’s condition? She doesnt get to sleep with us.  This is totally a rule I can live with.  And she doesnt seem to mind. 

Other times of the day, however, she just can’t help but shout her presence and need for y0ur lap as soon as you walk in the door/walk in the room/are sitting down to pee.  And no amount of “trust me, zoya, it would be better for all involved if you just took a breath and waited one hot sec” will deter her.

Currently, I am typing with one hand, which gives your tricep a surprising workout (No? Just me?) as she is lying all over my left arm after climbing into my lap with furvor because I came home. [We’re all pretty lucky I am not too lazy to capitalize.   The English major in me will never die.]

She does force me to slow down, this little lap lover.  At least a few times a day she gets all ramped up and I drop what I’m doing in order to sit with her for a few minutes and just listen to her purr.  It’s actually quite nice.  I really do treasure the time considering she is a fairly old lady and could go at any time.  I consider her violent meow every few hours a good sign, that she’s not left us for kitty heaven still got it. 

So that is the new member of our family- an elderly cat named Zoya.  And we couldn’t be more pleased.

Anything new with you?

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Adding to our family.

  • ma says:

    She looks quite content, so leaving her “grandparents home” to go home to mama seems to agree with her. It is only right that she be with you in her latter days…..that’s all I am going to say about that! P.S. Thanks Kenny 🙂

  • David says:

    She loves you Natalie!! And, I am breathing sooo….much better at night. I do miss her at times, but I know that she will have fun with the chickens and you.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Adding to our family. at thischickadee.

meta

