Your Mama, Part 1.

May 10, 2012 § Leave a comment

As Mother’s Day approaches, we should all be prepared to do something.

Not just because Hallmark or This Chickadee is telling us to, but because we want to.

Love our mamas. 

With this special holiday on the horizon, I think we can be bothered to take more than one day to honor the women in our lives who birthed/raised/guided/provided for us, or maybe plain ol’ took us in. Everyone has a unique story (and I would love to hear them all), but my hope is that there is a woman who has assumed a mothering role in one way or another in your life to focus some love on this week.

When I look at the faces of women who have joined the ranks of motherhood, I swell of respect and admiration as well as fill with fear at the prospect one day.  To me, it is a miracle any parent survives raising children (which is a whole ‘nother post), but mothers especially have my heart. 

What they give.  How they guide.  The love.

Perhaps it is due to my own loving and fantastic mother who deserves her due shout out (in Part 2).  I see her now as remarkable, a truth that I had a loose grasp of growing up but I now hold tight and close.  And I would love to say that she is one-of-a-kind (which is true, in part- there is definitely no other Robyn), but mothers everywhere deserve an outpouring of love and admiration for who they are.  Yes, in theory this would happen all the time and “who the heck needs a holiday to remind them to love their mom?”  Unfortunately, probably a lot of people.

So I’m just trying to help.  Our homework is to appreciate the woman who brought us into this world, has probably threatened to take us out of it, and is our one and only mom [This sentence carefully crafted for mother-child situations everywhere, from close to distant].  Hopefully appreciation can flow, but if not, I pray the effort is there and we can find ways to make it known on Sunday and beyond. 

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Your Mama, Part 1. at thischickadee.

meta

