Carts, plates, and balls.

June 27, 2012 § 6 Comments

Ever had too many balls in the air?

[I’ve always kinda hated that phrase, because apparently sometimes I can think like a middle school boy, but there it is.]

Too many plates spinning?

The proverbial cart before the horse when adding another thing to your list?

As it turns out, for those of you who don’t know, calling yourself a “writer” brings with it endless possibilities.  And that is a blessing and a curse.  When I went at this full-time last fall, I jumped into a lot of things, not knowing what would stick.  Devotionals, articles, newsletters, websites, a book, and this blog all asked for a dipping of my toe to see if the water was fine.

I didn’t really know where to start, so I started it all.  By my count, that is at least six different paths my writing was taking.

I  think there’s a saying out there having to do with the more you’re doing, the less likely it is that you are doing any of it 100%.  Have I been doing any of these things 100%?  No.  But I don’t know how to stop.

What if today I’m inspired to write a devotional for women when I’m supposed to be writing about the latest Eagle Scout?  That moment was perfect to share on my blog (with, of course, a retro-ish picture included), but I was on my way to writing an article about how to become a medical assistant.

It’s dizzying.  And I am doing none of it well.  Because the entire time I am trying to “focus” on something, there is a part of my brain that is taking inventory of other topics and things I could be writing about and lightly tapping on my shoulder, asking “Now?  How about now?  What about now? Look over here! You could be writing about this.”

In fact, because I am nothing if not honest here, all of this ruminating applies to right now.  Should I be writing this post?  No. I should be writing about how to work and go to school at the same time and actually get paid.  But here I am, following the shoulder tapping and writing this instead.  But is that bad? I want to write here, too, and don’t like to without inspiration.  And right now I’m inspired.

And so the vicious cycle punches me in the face again.

Oh, I have had a “schedule.”  I have even timed myself for how long it should take to work on something so that I have to focus before the shrill and dreaded BEEP.  But to no avail.  I just don’t know.  So, I have no answers. Only this quandry.  I’ve never been that awesome at organizing my time and my mind, so here I sit.  Just sharing.  But that’s what a blog is, yes?

Any suggestions? Thoughts? Stiff drink recommendations?

Not kidding.

Tagged: , ,

§ 6 Responses to Carts, plates, and balls.

  • David says:

    When I used to preach a lot, I would keep a pad and paper by my bed because, believe it or not, I would get some of my better ideas in dreams and the such while sleeping!! You always say to yourself that “Wow, I’ll remember that and write about it in the morning”! Guess what? You don’t remember any of it when you wake. Just a thought. You may already be doing it. And, of course, prayer is a big part of anything that we do.

    • Already trying that one, David! However, isn’t it funny how we can convince ourselves that “tonight will be different and I will definitely remember in the morning?” I just can’t seem to learn. 🙂

  • Chaco says:

    And of course, follow Ma’s advice. 🙂

  • Chaco says:

    I heard today that adding vodka and pineapple juice to mimosas is delish.

  • ma says:

    Temptation of the brain is a tricky thing. I order prayer first, ALWAYS, asking the Lord to set the stage for your day in how He has planned it. Second, set your appointment schedule with yourself as to the order of your week. Do not break appointments with yourself. If an inspiration to blog comes, take your “coffee break” at that time….then back to your appointment. At the end of the day, treat yourself to a nice glass of wine, feet up…..and promise yourself to do better tomorrow
    🙂 That’s all I got for now!!!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Carts, plates, and balls. at thischickadee.

meta

