Monday, Monday

August 20, 2012 § Leave a comment

I’ve had a harder and harder time with Mondays lately.

Not sure why this is, but a heaviness hangs over me from the second I open my eyes until I am mostly through the day.

(Isn’t this post starting out super encouraging and uplifting as we start our weeks?  Hang in there)

But today, sipping my smoothie before getting ready for work, I sit and listen to the chickens starting their day, talking to each other and finding their way to food.  I hear the birds starting their day, singing to everyone around them until flying off to a new place to serenade.  I see my husband sit across from me as I type this, dust off his Bible (literally because it’s home lately has been on the kitchen table) and begin to recite this:

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds because you know the testing of your faith develops perseverence and perseverence must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, lacking in nothing.

James 1:2-4

So. Huh. God’s timing is always perfect, no?  This was the mantra at camp 2009, when we were leading a group of teenagers and all experiencing a kind of tired we didn’t think existed.  This verse got us through.

We can face this Monday, no matter what it brings, and consider it pure joy. I’m going to let that sink into my soul today.

Stay tuned for some fun posts this week- some special people in my life will be getting some attention here and elsewhere.

For now, I consider it pure joy that last Monday marked the end of making this monster:

Pure. Joy.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Monday, Monday at thischickadee.

meta

