See what I mean?

October 8, 2012 § Leave a comment

Too quiet ’round here.

It’s breaking my heart.

But in only one more week, we’ll be back in regular business.

For now, I’ll leave you with a definition and a thought as we’ve been a week into a month of intention.

Intention (n): 1. An act or instance of determining mentally upon some action or result.
2. The end or object intended; purpose

I love reading definitions.  I truly am, at heart, an English nerd.  But upon reading this one, I was so pleased that it aligned so perfectly with my line of thinking.  For me, the mental side of being intentional is most of the battle.  No matter how much I may want to do something, I have to get my mind fully involved (or sometimes just out of the way), “determining mentally” to put one foot in front of the other in the direction of helping someone or completing a task with focus. Yes, I can talk myself out of almost anything or at least forgo dedicated thought to my movements and actions.  But I’m working on engaging my mind as much as possible, rather than going through the motions as usual, but change is my goal.

Moving with purpose.

What are we “determining mentally” to do today, with purpose?

Ready, go.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading See what I mean? at thischickadee.

meta

