Stand with me.

January 17, 2013 § Leave a comment

wavesblog Image//Edited by This Chickadee

I nannied a sick little boy all week and today, woke up feeling like someone slipped a tranquilizer into my toothpaste and rolled clouds into my head.

Immune system, buck up, man. Seriously. I know you’re not getting as much attention with Peanut in town, but this is just sad.

But I still wanted to share something that has been sitting on my heart this week as I faced each day.  [And I rarely use Christianese like “sitting on my heart,” so you know it’s gotta be good.]

Every morning I try to read Jesus Calling by Sarah Young.  You guys, if you don’t have this devo, drop what you’re doing and get it. (I have this leather beauty that makes me feel all sophisticated and closer to Jesus when I read it. Highly recommended.) Many of you may already know about it, but for those who don’t, it is a 365-day devotional that is written in the form of Christ speaking to you.  It is simple, lovely, and includes scripture references at the bottom of each day for further reading. I, for one, have never been great at “quiet time” in the mornings, especially when it comes to looking at my Bible and not knowing where to start.  I need more direction. But with this gem, I am able to open up to today’s date while I eat my cereal and be utterly blessed.

God has been blowing my mind with how I could have read this devotional on this day last year or the year before, and yet it is perfectly and utterly applicable to today. My week has been filled by God using Sarah and this book to speak into my anxieties and fears before each day ahead in the most unique way.  And this particular one was no exception.

As things are changing in the biggest of ways lately, in my life and the lives of those closest to me, and each day I wake up to face what is coming, I picked up January 15th, part of which reads:

“You are surrounded by a sea of problems, but you are face to Face with Me, your Peace…
…The closer you live to Me, the safer you are.  Circumstances around you are undulating, and there are treacherous-looking waves in the distance. Fix your eyes on Me, the One who never changes. By the time those waves reach you, they will have shrunk to proportions of My design.  I am always beside you, helping you face today’s waves. The future is a phantom, seeking to spook you. Laugh at the future! Stay close to Me.”

Today, we look out at the waves coming and can’t breathe.  But today, we remember that we are standing ankle-deep in what were the daunting waves of yesterday, last week, or last month. Today, we are living in the truth that He has helped us face what had us paralyzed or frightened in the past. We are not alone, staring down what seems impossible.  Instead, He is asking us to trust Him today, and lean back into what is unchanged- Him-and ride it out.

Basically, He’s got this.  So we don’t have to.

It begs the question: what were you fearing a month ago? Look at your calendar.  Christmas was creeping up.  Did you have endless To-Do lists? Family challenges? Work struggles?

And where do you stand today? What has met the shore without drowing you, but instead swirled around your toes? Can we appreciate that today? What He’s already led us through?

Let us be reminded to “laugh at the future,” that which is a “phantom,” and fear not. Let’s stand at the shores of today and know that the One who made those waves ahead is standing right next to us with His feet in the surf. And we’re okay.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Stand with me. at thischickadee.

meta

