What it’s NOT about.

January 29, 2013 § Leave a comment

I’m not going to write about how great my husband is.

Nope.  That’s not what this is about.

It’s not about how he came to my rescue at the peak of my frustration and disappointment over a situation I shouldn’t have been facing in the first place.  It’s not about how I had exhausted all of my options and energy, talked it over until there was nothing left but the bag I was still holding. It’s not about how he sat with such patience and tried to figure it out with me, seeing how distraught and anxious I was getting and sitting down next to me in my feelings.

And it’s not about how when I had done all I could and still didn’t see a way out, was in fact getting pushed back down every time I tried to get up, and was beside myself with incredulous anger, he popped up with excitement and exclaimed, “I’ve got it! I don’t know why I didn’t see this before!”

And volunteered to take my place.

He would step in and go on my behalf, with joy.  Sealing it with a high-five across our dinner, he smiled and chuckled at my look of wonder and just said, “unity candle.”

It’s not about how all of the mucky feelings I’d been carrying around all day were instantly evaporated, how my heart almost became too big for my body and I almost levitated over to his lap for the biggest hug I could give.  It’s not about how the stress vaporized as we laughed and laughed at how it was “crazy enough to work” and he was looking forward to it.  Whatever he needed to do, he would do.

“Of course! Why didn’t I think of this before?”  There probably should be lots of reasons, husband.

Instead, this is about something else I learned, something I saw in him that blew me away.

It’s about the wife I want to be.  When it comes down to it, I want to be a wife like that.  I want to exclaim, “Yes! I’ll do it!” even if it means going completely out of my routine, my comfort zone, my box.  “Of course!”

Last night, my husband showed me true partnership and sacrifice (because even if he doesn’t see it that way, it is truly a sacrifice) without a second thought.  No catch, no conditions, no second thought.  Just a gift.

And I saw it- the wife I want to be.

Of course.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What it’s NOT about. at thischickadee.

meta

