Forget the fear.

February 5, 2013 § Leave a comment

When your thoughts flow freely, they tend to move toward problems. Your focus gets snagged on a given problem, circling round and round it in attempts to gain mastery.”

“Your energy is drained away from other matters through this negative focus. Worst of all, you lose sight of me.”

Amen? AMEN.

Seriously, Jesus Calling is where it’s AT.  Every single day I sit with it and let the gentle correction of how I was going to start my day wash over me. And then I just want to tell you guys all about it. And it’s hard not to just copy the whole book, so pleaseifyouknowwhatsgoodforyou, GET IT.

As mentioned last week, I’m jumping into a new phase right now, in life and in writing, and all I’ve been able to do for weeks is just plain worry about it.  And avoid it. And pretend it’s simply not happening for a while. But here it is. The months have worn down to weeks which gave way to days and whittled down to hours and minutes until the present could no longer be denied.  I have been “circling round and round it in attempts to gain mastery” alright–of my fear.  How many of us are guilty of that? And then, sitting in the fourth row back at church between my husband and my father, I listened deeply to these Prayer of Confession words:

Loving God,

We know your love is steadfast—that your favor rests upon us in our Lord, Jesus Christ.  You give us the gift of mercy that is new each morning.

God, we confess that we have squandered that beautiful gift. 

We often live from a place of dissatisfaction, over gratitude.

Foolish frenetic activity, over wise and mindful intentionality.

Self pity, over generosity of heart.

Asleep to your desires for us and our world, over wakefulness to work of your spirit.

A switch was flipped. I am now living in a place of gratitude for this time and have opened my eyes wider to those around me offering encouragement and support. Fear is an ugly threat to our passions.  Fear is the ultimate silencer.  And I prefer to live into the new mercies and the work of the Spirit today, who does not want to keep me quiet and feeling scared of the future. Instead, I will do my best to settle in closer to His side where there is nothing but Light and trust.

“Bring me your weakness, and receive My Peace.  Accept yourself and your circumstances just as they are, remembering that I am sovereign over everything. Do no wear yourself out with analyzing and planning. Instead, let thankfulness and trust be your guides through this day; they will keep you close to Me.”

How about you?

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Forget the fear. at thischickadee.

meta

