Insert Title Here//a guest post

April 25, 2013 § 1 Comment

It’s not every day that you get to feature another person’s heart on your humble online space.

Today I’d like to introduce you to my brother, Ryan, and a word he wanted to share. I am honored to be the one who gets to press “publish” and read about what is working in his life. After moving to a new state, starting a new job, and buying a new house, it goes without saying that he has been leaning on his Lord and I love reading the fruit of that.

Without further adieu, let’s get to it.

beach1

Then the LORD said unto Moses, “Now shalt thou see what I will do to Pharaoh: for with a strong hand shall he let them go, and with a strong hand shall he drive them out of his land.” 2And God spake unto Moses, and said unto him, “I am the LORD.” Exodus 6:1-2

I am a husband. I am a father. I am a son.
I am a doctor, I am a lawyer, I am (insert your title here).

It is easy to focus on these titles, these labels, and make them our primary identities. In doing so, we take it upon ourselves and ourselves alone to carry their weight. That strategy works for a while, but then we make a mistake, fail someone, have someone fail us, and our identity is in question. Holes appear in our facade. We then falter, grow weary, disheartened, and frustrated.

“Who am I?” we wonder.

Jesus asks us to find our identity in Him alone. In Matthew 11:30 he says “For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” I think our lives are less about finding who we are and more about finding who He is.

Sometimes I need a reminder.

So for instance, when I feel discouraged after ending my day at the office with the feeling that nothing got accomplished, or fail at being husband or father or better yet, when I try to compare or take on a perceived title of another person I stop….and I write the following:

Me: I am (insert title here)
God: I am The Lord.

It tends to put everything in the proper perspective and helps me understand why our Lord is referred to as the Great I AM.
Because I am not and I am not supposed to be.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Insert Title Here//a guest post

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Insert Title Here//a guest post at thischickadee.

meta

